Buddhas of Celestial Gallery [Bookshelf Edition]
Written By: Romio Shrestha
$24.95
In the tradition of Celestial Gallery and Goddesses of the Celestial Gallery, Romio Shrestha’s latest art book gathers striking Tibetan-style mandala paintings featuring the Buddha. These hauntingly powerful paintings depict the life of the deity in eloquent detail and render postmodern interpretations of an age-old Tibetan artistic tradition in which images are painstakingly created using malachite, lapis, and marigolds, and painted at times with three hairs of a cat’s tail. These exquisite portrayals of the celestial spheres, known as mandalas, invite viewers to meditate on the Buddha’s message of love, completion, and connectedness. Also available in a lavishly illustrated oversize edition
Format: Hardbound
Publication Date: 3/19/2013
ISBN: 9781608871704
Pages: 64
Trim Size: 9.265 x 14

  • About the Author 
  • Press
Romio Shrestha, Author: Romio Shrestha is a modern master of the Indo-Nepali-Tibetan Buddhist traditions of enlightenment art, and his thangkas can be found in many of the great collections of the world, including the British Museum, the Victoria Albert Museum, the Buchheim Museum, the American Museum of Natural History, the Tibet House in New York City, and the Newark Museum in New Jersey. He directs a school of artist-craftsmen in the Kathmandu Valley of Tibet.

RELATED ITEMS